An unusual transformation

I’ve got a new paper just out! It’s about a discovery made during my PhD that I’ve continue to investigate during my post-doc and while here in Japan…

Imagine wringing out a wet sponge: the water comes out of the pores as you squeeze, fine. Now imagine you’re holding some material without any pores, that isn’t wet at all. Squeeze it and… wow! That’s water coming out!

That imaginary situation is similar to what happens to Lithium L-malate when you heat it up: it contains no pores and no water, yet it releases H2O around 160 C. Using a combination of X-ray diffraction, NMR, DFT and other techniques, I and my collaborators have investigated why this happens. It’s here in this paper.

Leave a Reply

